dtv Hardcover dtv Premium dtv junior dtv Reihe Hanser Beck im dtv
Der Audio Verlag Arche Verlag Orell Füssli Verlage Tre Torri Oetinger Taschenbuch Atlantis Usborne Verlag Klett Kinderbuch JUMBO
About dtv

 In summer 1960, eleven major German hardcover publishers – among them C.H. Beck, DVA, Hanser, Insel, Kiepenheuer & Witsch and Piper – decided to set up their very own paperback publishing house. Heinz Friedrich (1922-2004) became publisher and managing associate of this new publishing house, and the renowned Swiss graphic artist Celestino Piatti (1922 – 2007) could be won for the design of the books. He strongly influenced the visual presentation of the entire publishing house until the mid-nineties. 

The first public appearance of Deutscher Taschenbuch Verlag was in fall of 1961 with its first nine titles. Number one back then and until today was and is Heinrich Böll’s “Irisches Tagebuch”. 

Almost from the beginning, dtv was not only a paperback imprint for hardcover, but also a publisher of original paperback editions – one of the first being the “dtv-Atlas Weltgeschichte”, which started the successful dtv-Atlas series in 1964 and which is still the most prominent title with more than 5,5 million copies sold and translations into 25 languages. 

The cultivation of German and international literature in paperback licences, original or German first editions has always been the focus of dtv. Nowadays, the list encompasses prominent German authors such as Heinrich Böll, Günter Grass, Uwe Timm or Siegfried Lenz as well as authors from the younger generations like Julia Franck, Christian Kracht or Thomas Glavinic. Internationally renowned names such as Umberto Eco, Alessandro Baricco,  Gioconda Belli, T.C. Boyle, Charlaine Harris, Jasper Fforde, Jostein Gaarder or Henning Mankell are likewise part of our list.

The Non-Fiction list includes titles on social, literary, cultural, historical and political issues, but also life guides, reference books and the dtv-Atlases. Daniel Goleman, Saul Friedländer, Deepak Chopra, Anselm Grün, Stephen Hawking, Simon Singh, Erich Fromm, Ian Kershaw and Marianne Koch are just some of our authors. 

With “dtv junior”, a children and young adults’ line was created in 1971, headed by Maria Friedrich. It immediately established itself on the market and offers books for all age groups, from texts for first-time readers to novels for young adults, from fantasy and thrillers, adventures and funny books to gripping real-life stories. Kate diCamillo, Kevin Brooks and Henning Mankell contribute to this list as well as Irina Korschunow, Dagmar Geisler and Juerg Obrist. 

Since 1996, Wolfgang Balk heads dtv as publisher. He introduced a new optical appearance for the house as well as dtv premium, a quality trade paperback in a larger format, exclusively for original and German first editions. Within this special format, authors such as Muriel Barbery, Marina Lewycka or Antal Szerb have been published successfully. 

Today, dtv is one of the leading paperback publishers in Germany. 


Verlag C.H. Beck oHG, München
Ganske Verlagsgruppe GmbH, Hamburg
Carl Hanser Verlag GmbH & Co. KG, München
jtu Jugend-Taschenbuch-Union GmbH, München