9783423282390
bookmark

Tasso in the Madhouse

Stories

Art and life: tragic and funny.

Art and life - when one throws us off track, the other puts us back on the rails. Or is it the other way around?
In the first of three stories, a dissident author retreats from the public eye in order to save his life and finds in the art exhibit entitled “The German Device,” a pattern that can interpret the present age.
Standing in front of Delacroix’s painting “Tasso in the Madhouse,” a publisher entangles the narrator in an ambivalent conversation that generates a moment of rare clarity: “Even when you know something, there’s always something more that you don’t know.”
And finally, the painter Grützke holds joyously court in a hospice, providing his visitors with hours of delightful intensity.

• Ingo Schulze’s books have been translated into 30 languages and have received multiple awards
• For readers of Umberto Eco

Details

dtv Literatur
160 pages, ISBN 978-3-423-28239-0
21. Mai 2021
details