Coverbild In the Shadow of the Empire von Eckart Conze, ISBN-978-3-423-28256-7

In the Shadow of the Empire

The foundation of the German Empire in 1871 and its complicated legacy
Hardcover
22,00 EURO
E-Book
19,99 EURO

A masterful analysis of the founding of the German state and the ambiguities of the Empire

On January 18, 1871, in the Hall of Mirrors at Versailles, the King of Prussia was crowned the Kaiser of Germany, and the German Empire was born. Over the following years, the “Nationalstaat” took shape, the meaning and legacy of which are more debated today than they have been in previous decades.
How socially modern was the Empire? To what extent was it anti-democratic, anti-Semitic, and exclusionary of minorities? What conditions from 1871 set the course to Verdun and later to Auschwitz? Do the foreign policies of the Berlin Republic take their bearings from the power politics of the Empire? How should modern Germany view its political predecessor?

Eckart Conze’s sharply conceived and brilliantly executed analysis provides answers to these questions, illuminating the background of our current social and remembrance policy debates, and takes a firm stand: “There is nothing to celebrate. The Empire belongs in the museum!”

  • Professor Eckart Conze is one of Germany’s leading modern historians
  • Books by the Spiegel bestseller author are seen as standard references
  • For readers of Christopher Clark, Herfried Münkler and Thomas Karlauf

VERSANDKOSTENFREI BESTELLEN
22,00
Sofort lieferbar
Lieferung in 2-3 Werktagen
IN IHRER BUCHHANDLUNG ODER BEI EINEM UNSERER ONLINE PARTNER BESTELLEN:
Details
288 pages, ISBN 978-3-423-28256-7
About the author
Portrait von Eckart Conze

Eckart Conze

Eckart Conze, born in 1963, is the Chair of Modern and Recent History at the University of Marburg. He is a high-profile historian of Germany’s recent history. His research concentrations include the history of the German aristocracy, foreign policy, the Treaty of Versailles, and the history of modern Germany.
Themenspecial
Special

Pro und Contra – Bücher für die Debatten von heute

Kluge Bücher, scharfe Gedanken, engagierte Diskussionen: Unsere Bücher bringen Klarheit und Haltung in aktuelle Debatten. Lesen Sie mehr über die kontroversen Themen unserer Zeit!

More Titles by the Author

merkzettel (0)

Es befinden sich keine Artikel in Ihrem Merkzettel


zum Merkzettel
warenkorb (0)

Es befinden sich keine Artikel in Ihrem Warenkorb


Gesamtbetrag:
0,00 €
inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versand
My dtv

Jetzt registrieren