Coverbild The Games of the Century von Roman Deininger, Uwe Ritzer, ISBN-978-3-423-28303-8
new

The Games of the Century

The 1972 Olympics, terrorism and the New Germany
Hardcover
25,00 EURO
E-Book
19,99 EURO
A dazzling panorama of an entire epoch, brilliantly narrated

Out of the shadows of the Nazi era, the post-war recovery complete – in 1972, Germany tears open the windows. There is a spirit of optimism in the air, and the Olympic Games are supposed to present to the world the new, easy-going Germany. These Games are to be a celebration of democracy; they are to present an alternative to the martial propaganda of 1936 in Berlin. Under the audacious tent roof, the olympic athletes embody the dream of peaceful coexistence in the midst of the Cold War. But then a Palestinian terrorist plot puts a cruel end to all that. Award-winning journalists Ritzer and Deininger tell a powerful story that spans almost a century and comes to a head during the two weeks of the 1972 Olympics.

• 70 years of German history condensed into the two weeks of the Olympic Games
• Extensive research, eyewitness interviews, and a new look at the massacre and the failures of both political figures and police officers
• For readers of Oliver Hilmes and Harald Jähner

VERSANDKOSTENFREI BESTELLEN
25,00
Sofort lieferbar
Lieferung in 2-3 Werktagen
IN IHRER BUCHHANDLUNG ODER BEI EINEM UNSERER ONLINE PARTNER BESTELLEN:
Details
528 pages, ISBN 978-3-423-28303-8
About the author
Portrait von Roman Deininger

Roman Deininger

Roman Deininger, born in 1978, is a political reporter for the Süddeutsche Zeitung (SZ). He grew up in Ingolstadt, and studied political science and theatre in Munich, Vienna and New Orleans graduating with a PhD focused on politics and religion in the US.
About the author
Portrait von Uwe Ritzer

Uwe Ritzer

Uwe Ritzer, born in 1965, has made a name for himself through his numerous investigative research projects. These have ranged from crooked dealings in the energy industry to the ADAC manipulation scandal. He has received several awards for his work, including the Guardian Prize, the Nannen Prize, and the Helmut Schmidt Journalism Prize.
merkzettel (0)

Es befinden sich keine Artikel in Ihrem Merkzettel


zum Merkzettel
warenkorb (0)

Es befinden sich keine Artikel in Ihrem Warenkorb


Gesamtbetrag:
0,00 €
inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versand
My dtv

Jetzt registrieren