Bestseller
Look inside

Do You See the Forest or the Trees?

Non-Fiction, Popular Science

Stop looking at the trees and see the forest!

Discover hidden patterns in nature and society and what this will tell you about global crisis management: In an interconnected world, we need to think in a networked way and to examine complex phenomena, such as pandemics, climate crises and the destabilization of ecosystems, as parts of a larger whole. Complexity scientist Dirk Brockmann takes a look at the crises of our time, searching for patterns, regularities and similarities between them and the complex processes in nature. In doing so, he draws highly insightful connections – for example, between forest fires and epidemics, and between populism and fish in search of food - and reveals what we can learn from them. Can we save humanity, that is, ourselves? There is hope - if we have the courage to embrace reductionism, think in an anti-disciplinary way, and focus on cooperation.

• An internationally renowned researcher
• A highly topical subject, a novel approach to thinking; fascinatingly illustrated
• For readers of Yuval Noah Harari and Hans Rosling

Sample Translation

Prof. Dr. Dirk Brockmann

Dirk Brockmann, born in 1969, is a professor at the Institute of Biology at Berlin's Humboldt University. He is also the head of a research group at the Robert Koch Institute. Previously, he was a professor of applied mathematics at Northwestern University in the US and a researcher at the Northwestern Institute on Complex Systems. He is particularly interested in the structures inherent to complex biological and social networks, and how these structures affect those processes that operate within them.

Do You See the Forest or the Trees?

Stop looking at the trees and see the forest!

Discover hidden patterns in nature and society and what this will tell you about global crisis management: In an interconnected world, we need to think in a networked way and to examine complex phenomena, such as pandemics, climate crises and the destabilization of ecosystems, as parts of a larger whole. Complexity scientist Dirk Brockmann takes a look at the crises of our time, searching for patterns, regularities and similarities between them and the complex processes in nature. In doing so, he draws highly insightful connections – for example, between forest fires and epidemics, and between populism and fish in search of food - and reveals what we can learn from them. Can we save humanity, that is, ourselves? There is hope - if we have the courage to embrace reductionism, think in an anti-disciplinary way, and focus on cooperation.

• An internationally renowned researcher
• A highly topical subject, a novel approach to thinking; fascinatingly illustrated
• For readers of Yuval Noah Harari and Hans Rosling

Sample Translation

Bibliographic Data
240 pages, ISBN: 978-3-423-28299-4
First published 2021