Lighthouse Parents: How We can Provide Guidance for Adolescent Children

Non-Fiction, Self-Help / Parenting

The Concept of “New Authority”

In families with adolescent children, intense discussions, withdrawal, anger, and conflict are frequent occurrences. These are followed by even more intense discussions, withdrawal, anger, and so on. But the cause for these tensions often isn’t rooted in children’s behavior – but rather in the actions of their parents. When parents don’t trust their gut feelings, take care of themselves, or clarify their values, they can’t offer any real direction to their children.
Drawing on various case studies from her own practice, family therapist Melanie Hubermann explains how the concept of “New Authority” can help parents get back in touch with each other, enabling them to have a stronger presence, introduce new rules and structures, and solve conflicts constructively. This will transform them into lighthouses who will be in a position to help their children glide smoothly through adolescence.

• How to use “New Authority” to create a fulfilling relationship between parents and teenagers
• True to life and practical, this book contains instructions, tips and exercises
• For readers of Jesper Juul and Remo H. Largo

Sample Translation

Melanie Hubermann

Melanie Hubermann is a systemic therapist for families, couples and individuals. She is also a “New Authority” trainer and the executive director of the Balagan Therapy Center. She has three daughters and lives with her family in Berlin. In her practice, she meets many competent and loving parents who, despite this, feel uncertain, helpless and alone. Melanie Hubermann provides them with a renewed trust in their gut instincts, as well as practical tips.

Lighthouse Parents: How We can Provide Guidance for Adolescent Children

The Concept of “New Authority”

In families with adolescent children, intense discussions, withdrawal, anger, and conflict are frequent occurrences. These are followed by even more intense discussions, withdrawal, anger, and so on. But the cause for these tensions often isn’t rooted in children’s behavior – but rather in the actions of their parents. When parents don’t trust their gut feelings, take care of themselves, or clarify their values, they can’t offer any real direction to their children.
Drawing on various case studies from her own practice, family therapist Melanie Hubermann explains how the concept of “New Authority” can help parents get back in touch with each other, enabling them to have a stronger presence, introduce new rules and structures, and solve conflicts constructively. This will transform them into lighthouses who will be in a position to help their children glide smoothly through adolescence.

• How to use “New Authority” to create a fulfilling relationship between parents and teenagers
• True to life and practical, this book contains instructions, tips and exercises
• For readers of Jesper Juul and Remo H. Largo

Sample Translation

Bibliographic Data
256 pages, ISBN: 978-3-423-28260-4
First published 2021