Deadly Summer

Fiction, Thriller / Crime

An ice-cold murder in the Arctic summer

It is summer on Spitsbergen, one of the northernmost islands on the globe. After solving a famous murder case in the preceding winter, ex-inspector Trond Lie decides to stay on the island. And when a master chef mysteriously disappears, Trond’s help is needed once more. Together with dog sled guide Frida, he delves into the investigation. 

The case takes a morbid turn when the duo stumble across a dead body, tucked away in the freezer of the only hotel in Pyramiden, the now-abandoned Soviet mining town. Trond and Frida are soon drawn into a complex, dangerous case – and they will not rest until it is solved.

  • For readers of Viveca Sten and Anna Ihrén
  • An exciting new case in an exciting new setting – the permanent daylight of the Arctic summer
Hanne H. Kvandal

Hanne H. Kvandal is the pseudonym of German broadcast journalist and author Hannah Hippe. As Hannah O’Brien, she wrote the successful series about Irish detective Grace O’Malley. Most recently, under her own name, she published through dtv the novel 'Die verlorene Tochter' ('The lost daughter'), which served as the basis for the Oscar-nominated German-Norwegian film 'Zwei Leben' ('Two Lives' 2012). The author lives in Cologne and along the Moselle River.

Deadly Summer

An ice-cold murder in the Arctic summer

It is summer on Spitsbergen, one of the northernmost islands on the globe. After solving a famous murder case in the preceding winter, ex-inspector Trond Lie decides to stay on the island. And when a master chef mysteriously disappears, Trond’s help is needed once more. Together with dog sled guide Frida, he delves into the investigation. 

The case takes a morbid turn when the duo stumble across a dead body, tucked away in the freezer of the only hotel in Pyramiden, the now-abandoned Soviet mining town. Trond and Frida are soon drawn into a complex, dangerous case – and they will not rest until it is solved.

  • For readers of Viveca Sten and Anna Ihrén
  • An exciting new case in an exciting new setting – the permanent daylight of the Arctic summer
Bibliographic Data
320 pages, ISBN: 978-3-423-21990-7
First published 2022