Agromafia

Non-Fiction, Politics / Economics

21st-century Mafia: Tomatoes are the new cocaine

Italy’s greatest export is its cuisine. The Mafia’s holdings in this industry amass up to 20 billion euros a year. They frequently control the entire delivery chain, from cultivation all the way to the end product. During the COVID-19 crisis, their influence has grown all the more. The victims include not only farmers and retailers, but also the purchasers of Italian produce – us.
Oliver Meiler interviewed various judges working with the Italian Anti-Mafia Investigation Directorate, in addition to journalists and food producers who have been threatened by the Mafia. He wants to take the reader on a journey through Italy’s food landscapes, pointing out the pathways of olive oil, mozzarella, and more – in doing so, he reveals the Mafia structures behind them.
Atmospheric, intriguing, shocking!


• The Mafia own vineyards, dairies and restaurants: they control 25% of the food production industry
• A thrilling investigative report from Italy
• For readers of Roberto Saviano

Oliver Meiler

Oliver Meiler, born in 1968, studied political science in Geneva. He worked as a correspondent in Italy, Southeast Asia, France, Spain, and back in Italy again. He lives with his family in Rome. Agromafia is his first book. His anger about this topic turns his stomach – literally!

Agromafia

21st-century Mafia: Tomatoes are the new cocaine

Italy’s greatest export is its cuisine. The Mafia’s holdings in this industry amass up to 20 billion euros a year. They frequently control the entire delivery chain, from cultivation all the way to the end product. During the COVID-19 crisis, their influence has grown all the more. The victims include not only farmers and retailers, but also the purchasers of Italian produce – us.
Oliver Meiler interviewed various judges working with the Italian Anti-Mafia Investigation Directorate, in addition to journalists and food producers who have been threatened by the Mafia. He wants to take the reader on a journey through Italy’s food landscapes, pointing out the pathways of olive oil, mozzarella, and more – in doing so, he reveals the Mafia structures behind them.
Atmospheric, intriguing, shocking!


• The Mafia own vineyards, dairies and restaurants: they control 25% of the food production industry
• A thrilling investigative report from Italy
• For readers of Roberto Saviano

Bibliographic Data
352 pages, ISBN: 978-3-423-28248-2
First published 2021