Book 1

Charlie – A School Bus Goes Haywire

Children & Young Adult, Children's Books, Children's Books Age 8+, Children's Books Friends / Family, Children's Books Adventure / Crime, Children's Books Fantasy / Science Fiction

Help! Our school bus is taking off – quite literally

Will can’t believe his eyes when caretaker Freddie ploughs into the schoolyard with a bright yellow and very battered old schoolbus. Exhaust fumes mingle with the smell of adventure and so Will hops on the bus with a few more daring pupils. Not only does this bus take every corner on one set of wheels only, it actually does take off like a rocket and flies off on a trip around the world. Charlie – yes, that’s its name – is full of surprises. It speaks, it has a mysterious past and it desperately needs help. And who would be better suited to come to its rescue than Will and his super clever friends from Threestone boarding school?

This is the start to a hilarious series revolving around Threestone’s pupils and their adventures – magic and otherwise – told with verve and esprit. 

  • Start to a hilarious series 
  • Perfect combination of adventure, magic, and humour
  • For readers of Sabrina Kirschner, Charlotte Habersack and The Magic School Bus series
Irene Zimmermann

Irene Zimmermann, born in 1955, studied German and Politics and worked as a teacher. She has written numerous books for young adults. She has two children and lives in southern Germany.

Tine Schulz

Tine Schulz was born in 1981. After training as a media designer she studied communications design and illustration at the University of Wismar. Since then she has been working as a freelance author and illustrator. She lives in Rostock.

Charlie – A School Bus Goes Haywire

Help! Our school bus is taking off – quite literally

Will can’t believe his eyes when caretaker Freddie ploughs into the schoolyard with a bright yellow and very battered old schoolbus. Exhaust fumes mingle with the smell of adventure and so Will hops on the bus with a few more daring pupils. Not only does this bus take every corner on one set of wheels only, it actually does take off like a rocket and flies off on a trip around the world. Charlie – yes, that’s its name – is full of surprises. It speaks, it has a mysterious past and it desperately needs help. And who would be better suited to come to its rescue than Will and his super clever friends from Threestone boarding school?

This is the start to a hilarious series revolving around Threestone’s pupils and their adventures – magic and otherwise – told with verve and esprit. 

  • Start to a hilarious series 
  • Perfect combination of adventure, magic, and humour
  • For readers of Sabrina Kirschner, Charlotte Habersack and The Magic School Bus series
Bibliographic Data
176 pages, ISBN: 978-3-423-76306-6
First published 2020