Understanding Children

Non-Fiction, Self-Help / Parenting

Understanding children made easy

Why do children always eat the same things? Why do they always dawdle?
Why are boys eventually arrayed against the girls? Why do toddlers throw everything?
Why do children pick their noses all the time?

Our little fellow humans are strange creatures. They mainly move by skipping, rarely do what they are told, and want to subsist on noodles and sweets. Sandra Winkler, mother of two daughters, gets to the bottom of this matter. Using findings from the fields of psychology, development pediatrics, and neurology, she provides an entertaining and vivid description of why little ones operate so differently than we do.
A book that will enable us to understand children better, while opening our eyes to the wonderful and wondrous aspects of them.


  • The extraordinary behavior of young children scientifically explained and humorously told
  • The ideal gift book - charmingly illustrated
  • For readers of Danielle Graf´s The child I wished to have so badly and Borgenicht´s Baby Owner Manual
Sandra Winkler

Sandra Winkler is a freelance journalist and author. Her writings have appeared in various periodicals, including Welt am Sonntag, Nido, Barbara, and SZ-Magazin. Like most other parents, she is constantly amazed by her children. With the help of experts in various fields, she has finally found answers.

Understanding Children

Understanding children made easy

Why do children always eat the same things? Why do they always dawdle?
Why are boys eventually arrayed against the girls? Why do toddlers throw everything?
Why do children pick their noses all the time?

Our little fellow humans are strange creatures. They mainly move by skipping, rarely do what they are told, and want to subsist on noodles and sweets. Sandra Winkler, mother of two daughters, gets to the bottom of this matter. Using findings from the fields of psychology, development pediatrics, and neurology, she provides an entertaining and vivid description of why little ones operate so differently than we do.
A book that will enable us to understand children better, while opening our eyes to the wonderful and wondrous aspects of them.


  • The extraordinary behavior of young children scientifically explained and humorously told
  • The ideal gift book - charmingly illustrated
  • For readers of Danielle Graf´s The child I wished to have so badly and Borgenicht´s Baby Owner Manual
Bibliographic Data
240 pages, ISBN: 978-3-423-35187-4
First published 2022