The Lichtenstein - Departement Store of Illusions

Historical Novels, Women's Fiction, Fiction

The Lichtenstein, stifled under the swastika

Berlin, 1935. The fashion boutique 'The Lichtenstein' is a hive of activity. Clothing designer Hannes continues to create collections that are neither ‘restrained’ nor ‘modest’, as demanded by the government; his wife, Hedi, has built up an advertising empire; Thea is in charge of tailoring; Ella is an admired film star.

But four years later, Berlin’s fashion metropolis era is long gone and 'The Lichtenstein', like most of German society, has been aryanised. The owner’s family and its Jewish employees have been scattered to the four winds. Hedi and Hannes, also targeted by the Nazis, must pack their bags for London. They must make use of film star Ella's far-reaching contacts to try to save Jacob Lichtenstein who has been deported to a labour camp.

  • For readers of Carmen Korn and fans of Downton Abbey
Marlene Averbeck

Marlene Averbeck studied German literature, in addition to theater/film/television studies, in college. She works as a freelance author and a researcher for film and television productions. She lives with her family in Berlin.

The Lichtenstein - Departement Store of Illusions

The Lichtenstein, stifled under the swastika

Berlin, 1935. The fashion boutique 'The Lichtenstein' is a hive of activity. Clothing designer Hannes continues to create collections that are neither ‘restrained’ nor ‘modest’, as demanded by the government; his wife, Hedi, has built up an advertising empire; Thea is in charge of tailoring; Ella is an admired film star.

But four years later, Berlin’s fashion metropolis era is long gone and 'The Lichtenstein', like most of German society, has been aryanised. The owner’s family and its Jewish employees have been scattered to the four winds. Hedi and Hannes, also targeted by the Nazis, must pack their bags for London. They must make use of film star Ella's far-reaching contacts to try to save Jacob Lichtenstein who has been deported to a labour camp.

  • For readers of Carmen Korn and fans of Downton Abbey
Bibliographic Data
432 pages, ISBN: 978-3-423-26316-0
First published 2022