Death of a Homeland

Fiction, Literary Fiction

Germany forgets its history - and a family at the pinnacle of power threatens to shatter as a result

Tilde Ahrens, who narrowly survived the Second World War, is dying. Shortly before her death, she asks her favorite granddaughter Hanna to keep the family together. This will be no easy task, because Hanna's sister Trixie is married to Count Felix von Altdorff, the chancellor candidate for the nationalist party, Citizens Unite, who surprisingly wins the election. Hanna allows herself to be persuaded by him to actively support his political work, and soon finds herself in an ever-growing conflict of loyalties that threatens to split the entire Ahrens family, for the radical forces in Felix's party and cabinet are driving Germany to the brink of disaster.

• A gripping family novel and an oppressive glimpse into a German future under nationalist aegis
• For readers of Timur Vernes and Robert Harris

Sarah Höflich

Sarah Höflich, born in 1979, was fascinated by stories and history even as a child. She studied English and literature in college, and was awarded a Fulbright Grant to the US, where she completed her MFA in Creative Writing. She currently works as a screenplay author and producer for UFA, for which she has created several successful television series.

Death of a Homeland

Germany forgets its history - and a family at the pinnacle of power threatens to shatter as a result

Tilde Ahrens, who narrowly survived the Second World War, is dying. Shortly before her death, she asks her favorite granddaughter Hanna to keep the family together. This will be no easy task, because Hanna's sister Trixie is married to Count Felix von Altdorff, the chancellor candidate for the nationalist party, Citizens Unite, who surprisingly wins the election. Hanna allows herself to be persuaded by him to actively support his political work, and soon finds herself in an ever-growing conflict of loyalties that threatens to split the entire Ahrens family, for the radical forces in Felix's party and cabinet are driving Germany to the brink of disaster.

• A gripping family novel and an oppressive glimpse into a German future under nationalist aegis
• For readers of Timur Vernes and Robert Harris

Bibliographic Data
384 pages, ISBN: 978-3-423-21970-9
First published 2021