Bestseller
Look inside

On Getting Up

Fiction, Literary Fiction, Bestseller, Bestseller Fiction

A century and a life - transformed into literature

As Helga Schubert’s mother explains to her daughter, she has accomplished three acts of heroism in her lifetime: refusing to abort her daughter, taking her along when fleeing from enemy troops during World War II, and not shooting Helga before the Russians invaded.
In brief episodes and crisp, emotional words, Helga Schubert tells the story of a century of German history - her own history, in an account that seamlessly combines fiction and truth. For over ten years, she was watched by the Stasi. She was almost fifty years old by the time she could vote in her first free election. However, it wasn’t until after her mother’s death that she could find reconciliation, both with her mother, with a life filled with resistance, and with herself.

• From the winner of the Ingeborg Bachman Award 2020
• For readers of Annie Ernaux and Monika Helfer
• Previous books by the author have been sold to Japan, France and Italy
• SPIEGEL bestseller: 125,000 copies sold

Sample Translation

New Books in German 

Helga Schubert

Helga Schubert, born in 1940 in Berlin, studied psychology at Humboldt University. She worked as a psychotherapist and writer in East Germany. As press officer for the Central Round Table, she helped prepare for the first free elections. After publishing numerous books, she retreated from the public literary space. This changed in 2020 when she won the Ingeborg Bachmann Prize for her story Getting Up. A volume of short stories of the same name was published by dtv in 2021 and was nominated for the Leipzig Book Fair Prize.

On Getting Up

A century and a life - transformed into literature

As Helga Schubert’s mother explains to her daughter, she has accomplished three acts of heroism in her lifetime: refusing to abort her daughter, taking her along when fleeing from enemy troops during World War II, and not shooting Helga before the Russians invaded.
In brief episodes and crisp, emotional words, Helga Schubert tells the story of a century of German history - her own history, in an account that seamlessly combines fiction and truth. For over ten years, she was watched by the Stasi. She was almost fifty years old by the time she could vote in her first free election. However, it wasn’t until after her mother’s death that she could find reconciliation, both with her mother, with a life filled with resistance, and with herself.

• From the winner of the Ingeborg Bachman Award 2020
• For readers of Annie Ernaux and Monika Helfer
• Previous books by the author have been sold to Japan, France and Italy
• SPIEGEL bestseller: 125,000 copies sold

Sample Translation

New Books in German 

Bibliographic Data
224 pages, ISBN: 978-3-423-28278-9
First published 2021